Judge Richard A. Frye

  1. Richard A Frye

    Richard A. Frye

    Presiding Judge
    Term Expires: January 2023

Livestream of Courtroom 5F 
(video will be available when Court is in session)

Courtroom Staff

ContactFor Information Regarding 
Vickie Amrine


  • General inquires.
Vickie Amrine
Cheryl Jeffrey


  • Case scheduling including reporting status of cases coming up for trial or reporting cases are settled.
  • Requests for new trial dates as explained in Section III(A.)
  • Requests to have cases referred to arbitration or mediation.
  • Criminal procedures and preferences.
  • Other general inquiries.
Cheryl Jeffrey
Stacey Hauff
Staff Attorney


  • Inquire about court procedures or pending motions. Note: Counsel should only call the Staff Attorney after consulting one another absent some dire emergency.
  • Request status conferences, or oral argument on significant motions.
Carol Jung
Court Reporter


  • Order transcripts.
Carol Jung
Jennifer R. Cordle


  • Request transfer of a matter for a jury trial or other proceeding (such as a damages hearing on a default judgment.)
Jennifer R. Cordle


Judge Richard A. Frye was elected to the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas in November 2004, and re-elected in 2010 and 2016. Before taking the bench he was in private practice in Columbus for over 30 years.

Service on Committees

Judge Frye is a Fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers, and currently serves on the ACTL Judicial Independence Committee. He is also a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, and a Life Member of the Sixth Circuit Judicial Conference. He was chair of the Local Rules Committee for the United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio for 14 years; president of the Columbus Legal Aid Society in 2003 to 2004 and co-author of Ohio Eminent Domain Practice (1977). Judge Frye is also currently an officer of the Columbus Bar Foundation.

Judge Frye chaired the Judges Committee that oversaw design and construction of the new Franklin County Courthouse which opened in 2011. Between 2009 to 2012 he served as one of two Commercial Docket judges at this court, assigned by the Chief Justice pursuant to the Temporary Superintendence Rules. He currently chairs the court’s Local Rules Committee and is Presiding Judge of the court.

He currently serves on the Ohio Supreme Court Commission on the Rules of Practice and Procedure (and chairs the Evidence Rules committee), and was a member for 9 years of the Supreme Court’s Advisory Committee on Case Management. Judge Frye is also a longtime member of the Ohio Judicial Conference Civil Law and Procedure Committee.


Judge Frye received the 2013 William K. Thomas Distinguished Jurist Award from Ohio State’s Moritz College of Law alumni society, the 2012 Liberty Bell Award from the Columbus Bar Association, and the 2009 Judge George Tyack Award for judicial excellence from the Central Ohio Assn. for Justice.

  1. Courtroom 5F

    Physical Address
    345 S High Street
    5th Floor, Courtroom 5F
    Columbus, OH 43215


    Phone: 614.525.3811
    Fax: 614.525.2464