The new Franklin County Courthouse, scheduled for completion in 2010, will be the first LEED-certified building in the State of Ohio. Click here to learn more.The Franklin County Court of Common Pleas is a stong supporter of Green initiatives. Click here to learn more.


Mission Statement

The Court's nine Magistrates are experienced attorneys who are employed by the Court on a full-time basis to perform a variety of civil and criminal judicial functions on behalf of the Court's seventeen Judges.

About the Court Magistrates

Pursuant to Ohio Civil Rule 53 and Local Rule 99, the Magistrates preside over jury trials, jury-waived trials, motion hearings, discovery hearings, damages hearings, mediation conferences, pre-trial and status conferences, and a variety of proceedings in aid of execution of judgment. Pursuant to Ohio Criminal Rule 19, the Magistrates conduct felony arraignments and, in that process, set bond and appoint counsel to represent indigent defendants.

Relevant Local Rules

Local Rule 71 - Criminal Assignments
Local Rule 77 - Indigent Defendant
Local Rule 99 - Court Referee/Magistrate
Local Rule 101 - Broadcasting, Television & Recording Court Proceedings
Local Rule 105 - Mandatory Mediation

Pamela Broer Browning
Jennifer R. Cordle
Pamela S. Erdy
Jennifer Hunt
Mark Petrucci
Elizabeta P. Saken
Edwin L Skeens
Myron A. Thompson
Elizabeth Watters

Common Pleas Courthouse

Duty Magistrate Courtroom 2B
phone 614-525-3118
fax 614-525-3012 345 South High Street Columbus, Ohio 43215 (Please see individual Magistrate for their assigned courtroom, phone, fax.)

Related Attachments